Chapter History


The Nu Iota Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was officially chartered on June 28, 1980 by then South Atlantic Regional Director, Deloris Oliver. The Nu Iota Omega Chapter holds the distinction of being the 100th chapter chartered in the South Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. and the last chapter chartered prior to the 1980 Boule held in Atlanta, Georgia.

It all began in January of 1980, when four sorors, Doris Hawthorne, Shirley Austin, Gloria Grant and Elouise Sistrunk through an informal discussion, began to realize that the North Orange-South Seminole county areas were lacking in the kind of community involvement that Alpha Kappa Alpha advocates at local levels. The idea took hold, that all known sorors in the area under discussion, would be contacted to ascertain their interest in setting up a chapter to implement Alpha Kappa Alpha’s purpose and programs. This action prompted immediate and positive responses from several sorors in the locale and resulted in attracting a 17 member interest group which later became known as “NOSS” (North Orange / South Seminole).

Charter Members

Ruby Adams* Shirley Austin
Gloria Blocker Phoebe Brooks*
Glynette Brown Beulah Courtney
Gloria Grant Djery Gudaitis
Doris Hawthorne Wanda Horton
Elizabeth Johnson Doris Lawson
Sheryl Manor Marva Miller
Maye St. Julien Elouise Sistrunk
Carol Surles

*Deceased member